Skip to main content

A.J. Foyt, Jr.

A.J. FOYT, JR. was still active as a driver at the time of his election to the Hall of Fame in May 1978. He earned the top ranking in his profession with an all-time record unequaled by any American contender. The first to win the Indianapolis 500 four times (1961, 1964, 1967, and 1977), he earned the United States Auto Club National Championship title a record seven times, in 1960, 1961, 1963, 1964, 1967, 1975, and 1979. In addition to his record 67 triumphs in the championship division, he scored 41 victories in United States Auto Club stock cars, 28 in sprint cars, and 20 in midgets while winning consistently on road courses as well as on the dirt and paved oval tracks. In 1967, just three weeks after winning at Indianapolis, he shared the winning Ford GT 40 Mk IV in the 24-Hours of Le Mans with Dan Gurney. Still a leading driver sixteen years later, he shared the winning car in the 24-Hours of Daytona in 1983 and 1985 and in the Sebring-12 Hours in 1985. He made a number of starts in NASCAR (National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing) competition, winning seven times, including the 1972 Daytona 500. He made his 35th consecutive Indianapolis 500 start in 1992 and announced his retirement just before qualifications began on May 15, 1993. He continued as a team owner, with Kenny Brack winning the 1999 Indianapolis 500 while driving for Foyt.