Skip to main content

1967 Winner

Driver: A.J. Foyt

Taking the lead for the final time only four laps from the end and then having to pick his way through the debris of a last-lap multicar accident on the main straight, A.J. Foyt came through to join Louis Meyer, Wilbur Shaw and Mauri Rose as only the fourth driver at the time to have won the Indianapolis 500 for a third time. Foyt also became the first (and still is the only) driver to have won in both a front- and a rear-engined car. The winning 255-cubic-inch V8 Ford-powered Sheraton-Thompson Special was the first of Foyt’s own Coyote chassis to win, the design strongly based on the Lotus Type-38 with which Jim Clark won in 1965.

Adoption cost: $2000

Adoption benefits:

  • A photo of your adopted car
  • A certificate of adoption
  • Online recognition
  • Teammates IMS Museum membership for one year

Adoptions are for a period of one year with the option to renew annually.