Skip to main content

1977 Winner

Driver: AJ Foyt

One of the greatest moments in all of Indianapolis Motor Speedway history occurred in 1977, when A.J. Foyt became the first person to win the Indianapolis 500 for a fourth time. Sponsored by Kalamazoo sportsman Jim Gilmore, Foyt’s winning car was a low-sitting Foyt Coyote, designed by Bob Riley and powered by a Ford-based Foyt V8 turbocharged engine. This was the last occasion on which both the engine and the chassis of the winning car were built in the United States.

Adoption cost: $1,000

Adoption benefits:

  • A vintage photo of your adopted car
  • Recognition signage with the car and on the Museum’s website
  • A certificate of adoption

Adoptions are for a period of one year with the option to renew annually.

Adopted by: In Honor of Martha Y. Harmon