Skip to main content

1952 Winner

The 1952-winning car is notable on two fronts: it’s the last dirt track-type championship car to win the “500,” and at age 22 years, 80 days, Troy Ruttman remains the youngest winner in Indianapolis 500 history.

An Offenhauser-powered machine built by Eddie Kuzma, the Agajanian Special won several other Championship races and made its debut at Indianapolis in 1951, when Walt Faulkner made a late qualifying run in it and set one- and four-lap qualifying records. He didn’t sit on the pole position since he wasn’t a first-day qualifier, but Faulkner and the Agajanian had the single-lap record, 138.122 mph.

Adopted by: In Memory of Troy Ruttman by Terry and Sherry Gentry