1950 Winner 

Wynn’s Friction Proofing Spl.

Driver: Johnnie Parsons

Johnnie Parsons had a most enviable record with this Ed Walsh–owned, Offenhauser-powered Kurtis–Kraft. Taking over the car (then painted red) during the 1948 season, Parsons won the final AAA Championship race of the year at DuQuoin, Ill. In 1949, he finished second in his first “500” start, after which he claimed the AAA National Championship title by winning five major events, all of which were conducted on dirt tracks. In 1950— with the car now painted yellow and sponsored by Wynn’s—Parsons was running in front when the “500” was halted by a downpour at 138 laps. Declared the winner, he had led for 115 laps. The car was then sold to Jim Robbins and in 1951, East Coast dirt track specialist Mike Nazaruk made his “500” debut and finished second.

Adoptions are for a period of one year with the option to renew annually.